Flowers and our furry friends.

I’d like to introduce you to Holly:

971646_10100237597953936_572482357_n

Holly with her cat grass!

Holly is our six-year-old muted calico domestic shorthair.  We adopted her from a shelter when she was just a baby and she’s been a member of the family ever since.

As the resident cat lady, I’m very paranoid about keeping her safe.  However, I also like to keep the house pretty, and I’d like that to include flower arrangements.  I am always nervous about having plants in the house because Holly enjoys eating things.  Eating everything.  I’m pretty sure she’s part labrador retriever.

Anyway, about a year and a half ago, Holly nibbled on a lily in a flower arrangement in our house.  This led to 3 nights in an emergency animal hospital, a very unhappy cat, and a very worried cat-mom.  Not to mention a very broke cat-mom after the bill came in.  So, since then, I’ve been super paranoid about bringing any kind of flowers or plants into the house.

I thought I’d share a really good resource I found for determining which plants are safe and unsafe for pets.  The ASPCA has a Poison Control site, and it lists all the toxic and non-toxic plants for different types of animals.

You can check out their website here:  http://www.aspca.org/pet-care/poison-control/plants/

On their site, they also published a list of 17 of the most common poisonous house plants:

  1. Lilies
  2. Marijuana
  3. Sago Palm
  4. Tulip/Narcissus bulbs
  5. Azalea/Rhododendron
  6. Oleander
  7. Castor Bean
  8. Cyclamen
  9. Kalanchoe
  10. Yew
  11. Amaryllis
  12. Autumn Crocus
  13. Chrysanthemum
  14. English Ivy
  15. Peace Lily (AKA Mauna Loa Peace Lily)
  16. Pothos
  17. Schefflera

Note the lily at the top of the list…  Anyway, I’m hoping to try to work some houseplants and flower arrangements into the new house’s decor, while making sure to keep Holly safe.  I’ll keep you posted if I find any good options!

Leave a Reply

