The Evolution of a Hallway

We’ve lived in this house for just over 2 months now, and I’m already on to my second coat of paint on our downstairs hallway.  The color we painted it (Behr – Heavy Cream) was reading way too yellow in the space and it bugged me constantly.  Then, after we painted the doors and trim from their original dark wood stain to bright white, the hallway looked too washed out.  It was making me crazy.  So, here we have it as it looks now (first with the light on, then with it off):

DSC_0099 DSC_0096

We went with a MUCH darker shade that coordinated with the living room color (updates on that to come!).  The new color is called Ashley Gray and it’s a Benjamin Moore color.  Can we PLEASE talk about what a misnomer that is?  I don’t think anyone would look at that color and say “Wow, that is one gray wall.”  Ashley Brown, maybe, but definitely not gray.  But I digress.  Back to the hall way progress.  Here’s a little trip down downstairs-hallway-memory-lane:

Here it is, the day we moved in:

DSC_0114

Then, the walls went Heavy Cream:

DSC_0530

Next, the doors got a paint job:

DSC_0093

And finally, here we are today:

DSC_0099

OH – If you’re particularly observant, you might have noticed that the door knobs went from mismatched pewter/shiny brass/old brass to a nice oil rubbed bronze.  I removed the door knobs, brought them outside, and hit them all with a bunch of coats of oil rubbed bronze spray paint.  I wasn’t sure how well they would turn out, but I hated them enough to give it a shot.  Turns out, spray paint works AWESOME on door knobs!  No chipping or scuffing or anything.  When I do the upstairs I’ll be sure to document the process a little better.

Ok, sorry for the LONGEST HALLWAY POST ever.  If you’ve made it this far, thank you.  If you nodded off earlier, my apologies.

Leave a Reply

