You, too, can spray paint your door knobs.

When I last posted about our downstairs hallway update, I told you that we spray painted our mismatched brass doorknobs with oil-rubbed bronze spray paint.  Although I’m sure it’s not rocket science, I figured I’d show my process in case anyone is looking for a cheap, easy way of updating hardware.

First, you need to remove your door knobs:

DSC_0174

It’s not hard, just unscrew the two screws at the base of the knob.  Then, you’re left with these 4 pieces:

DSC_0178 Plus a nasty looking hole in the door that also has the latch doohickey in it (official term):
DSC_0179

I left that part in there.  No need to over-complicate things.

Once all of your door knobs are off the doors, stick them in a piece of Styrofoam.  Also, this part is very important.  LABEL the door knobs and all of the screws.  Do NOT assume you will remember which knob goes where, because you probably won’t (you’ve been warned).

DSC_0192

I used a piece of painter’s tape to cover up my labels, just in case there was a lot of over spray from the spray paint:

DSC_0196

Then, it’s a good idea to go over each door knob with some fine sand paper to give the paint something to stick to.  I focused mainly on the parts where your hand would touch when using the knob:

DSC_0198

Then finally comes the fun part – spray painting!  I used Rustoleum Universal Metallic in Oil Rubbed Bronze.  It was about $7 for the can (a little pricy for spray paint), but it went on very smoothly.  I’d recommend it.

DSC_0199

And then, after many many very light coats…

DSC_0200You’re left with this!  Brand new (looking) door knobs!

DSC_0249

I was a little concerned about the knobs sticking, but they still turn just like before.  And I haven’t had any problems with chipping or scratching with normal use.  I did let them cure for a few days before reinstalling them in the doors, and I think that helped a lot.

So finally, here is the before our our upstairs hallway:

DSC_0145

And how it looks now!

DSC_0251

That rug REALLY needs to go, and we need some art on the walls, but I’m pretty pleased with how it’s coming along.  I know it’s just a hallway, but I’m happy that it’s looking cleaner and more finished.  Again, the walls are Benjamin Moore’s Ashley Gray and the trim and doors are Clark and Kensington’s Silent White.

2 thoughts on “You, too, can spray paint your door knobs.

Leave a Reply

